Skip to content


Submissions to Texas: 

1. Please submit completed proposals (Word Format) via email to by 5:00 PM Eastern time on November 4, 2021.

2. Is TDA further limiting IDC or is the USDA/AMS rate of 8% total federal award allowed for applicants? 
   A: TDA will claim 4% of the IDC for administrative costs. Awarded partners may claim the remaining 4% related to their direct costs. A lead may not claim the 4% on the contractual line item, if the contractor is also claiming the 4% on their direct costs.

3. Is there a template and portal specific to TDA which is similar to the process followed for the Specialty Crop Block grants submitted this past Spring? 

A: There is no specific template or portal specific to TDA for SCMSP.  The applicant must submit a proposal using the required information in the USDA SCMSP RFA in section 4.2.2 found here:

4. Do i need to download the application package SF -424 and SF 424A to apply to Texas?
A. No, you do not need access of the SF -424 and SF 424A form. These are forms TDA will use to submit eligible proposals to USDA.

Legislative Authority
Legislative authority for the Specialty Crop Multi-state Program (SCMP) is provided under section 101 of the Specialty Crops Competitiveness Act of 2004 (7 U.S.C. 1621 note), as amended under section 10107 of the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018, Public Law 115-343.

Program Scope
SCMP competitively awards funds to enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops through funding collaborative, multi-state projects that address the following regional or national level specialty crop issues:
  • Food safety 
  • Plant pests and disease 
  • Research 
  • Crop-specific projects addressing common issues  
  • Marketing and promotion
Project(s) must enhance the competitiveness of U.S. or U.S. territory-grown specialty crops in either domestic or foreign markets.

Specialty crops are fruits and vegetables, dried fruits, tree nuts, horticulture, and nursery crops (including floriculture). See the SCBGP website for a definition of specialty crops and processed products, including a list of eligible specialty crops and ineligible commodities.

All applicants must be domestic entities owned, operated, and located within the 50 States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the United States Virgin Islands, or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Eligible applicants include:

Entity Type  Description 
Participating States State departments of agriculture that elect to submit proposals to AMS on behalf of interested entities as well as oversee the administration of awarded agreements.
Nonparticipating States State departments of agriculture that do not elect to submit proposals to the AMS on behalf of interested entities as well as oversee the administration of awarded agreements.
Entities in Nonparticipating States Local governments, Indian tribes, institutions of higher education, or nonprofit organizations residing in Nonparticipating States.

Non-State Entities
(i.e., local governments, Indian tribes, institutions of higher education, or nonprofit organizations) residing in Participating States are ineligible to apply directly to AMS. These entities must work with their local Participating State to apply on their behalf.


Grant Program Questions:
Ms. Kat Neilson
(512) 463-6695