Skip to content

Colonia Self-Help Centers Legislative Set-Aside Fund (CSH)

Fund Name:

Colonia Self-Help Centers Legislative Set-Aside

Fund Acronym:



This fund provides grants for counties to assist colonias. Colonia Self-Help Centers are located in counties of Cameron/Willacy, El Paso, Hidalgo, Starr, Webb, Maverick, and Val Verde. The Colonia Self-Help Centers grants are administered by the Texas Department of Housing & Community Affairs through an interagency agreement.

Eligible Applicants:

TDHCA has established self-help centers in Cameron County, El Paso County, Hidalgo County, Starr County, and Webb County. If deemed necessary and appropriate, TDHCA may establish self-help centers in other counties (self-help centers have been established in Maverick County and Val Verde County) as long as the site is located in a county that is designated as an economically distressed area under the Texas Water Development Board Economically Distressed Areas Program (EDAP), the county is eligible to receive EDAP funds, and the colonias served by the center are located within 150 miles of the Texas-Mexico border.

For More Information