In November of 2011 the Texas Department of Agriculture announced the formation of The Texas Rural Health and Economic Development Advisory Council. Consisting of nine members, the council is tasked with identifying rural policy priorities and reviewing the effectiveness of existing rural programs.

In addition, the council is responsible for developing a Rural Policy Plan which was submitted to the Texas Legislature on December 1, 2012. The council’s Rural Policy plan focused on strategic initiatives for economic and community development, improvements to existing rural health care systems and recommendations for the use and allocation of Community Development Block Grant funding, which is used to make improvements in rural communities across Texas.

   Next Meeting

Monday, June 24, 2019


              Stephen F. Austin building

1700 N. Congress, 11th Floor,

Austin, TX 78701.

   Advisory Council Members
  • The Honorable Donna Campbell, State Senator, Texas Senate District 25
  • The Honorable Kyle Kacal, State Representative, District 12
  • The Honorable Sydney Murphy; County Judge, Polk County
  • The Honorable Don McBeath; Director of Advocacy and Communications, Texas Organization of Rural and Community Hospitals
  • Mr. Keven Carter; President & CEO, Amarillo Economic Development Corporation
  • Dr. Sheila Page, public member
  • Mr. George Bennack; Executive Director for Rural-Business Development, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Mr. Alejandro (Alex) Meade, III; City Manager, City of Pharr

   I want information about...