Skip to content
   More Information

Training Verification Forms

Training Verification Form (PDF)
Form Instructions (PDF)

For Future Training Opportunities

Contact your regional representative, or

Prescribed Burn Alliance of Texas
Academy for Ranch Management

   Upcoming Training Opportunities


Online PRESCRIBED BURN TRAINING (24 hour classroom curriculum):  

Texas A&M AgriLife offers six (6) Continuing Fire Training credits, when you complete the Burn school

This online training course is offered by Texas A&M AgriLife and provides an emphasis on fire behavior, how to employ the correct firing technique, and equipment & safety. After successful completion of this course, you will be eligible to schedule your official exam and field component to apply to become a Certified and Insured Prescribed Burn Manager (CIPBM) from TDA.


Texas A&M AgriLife offers two (2) Continuing Fire Training credits focused on laws and regulations and smoke management, when you complete the online class below: 

This course provides a total of 2 CFT's toward the 6 CFT requirement to renew your license. The course covers laws and regulations, gives an overview of brush pile burning procedures, and describes several tools used to effectively manage smoke from a burn pile.  


Upcoming Classes:


Gus T. Canales Lectureship on Prescribed Burning: King Ranch Institute for Ranch Management 

Instructor: Allen Rasmussen, PhD

Date: March 13-16, 2023

Location: Hybrid Event In-Person: Kingsville, Texas & Online: Zoom Webinar

For more information visit: 


Texas A&M Forest Service- Certified and Insured Prescribed Burn Manager training course.

Location: Mt. Pleasant, TX- Titus County AgriLife Facility

 When: April 10-14, 2023 (9:00 am to 5:00 pm)

Cost: Free (if all seats fill then priority given to experienced burners)

This Certified Prescribed Burn Manager Training will be held April 10-14, 2023 (1/2 day on the 14th) at the Titus County AgriLife Extension Service meeting room in Mt. Pleasant, TX. The course will be open to the public, but pre-registration is required. Lots of space is available but if seating fills up then priority will be given to students who meet the experience requirements for TDA certification.

Students who pass the final exam will meet the education requirements for becoming a Texas Department of Agriculture- Certified and Insured Prescribed Burn Manager. Additional requirements for TDA certification include: 3 years of prescribed burning experience, 30 days of prescribed burning in any region, 5 days of prescribed burning as the responsible individual, and a qualifying insurance policy (these are required to be certified but not prerequisites for the course). The field day of this course will require students to demonstrate an ability to safely participate in a prescribed burn. 

6 CFTs will be offered on Monday the 10th to CIPBMs interested in attended.

TFS_TDA Burn Manager Course Registration

To register for the course, email a completed registration form to Andy McCrady, Texas A&M Forest Service- Program Coordinator III (936-689-9393), at by March 30, 2023.


Red Buffalo LLC

Texas Prescribed Burn Workshop 4-day Course

When: April 17-20, 2023

Texas Tech University-Junction

254 Red Raider Lane

Junction, TX 76849

Contact:  Keith Blair 830-459-0444,

Registration: or Red Buffalo on Facebook

Training and Testing for Board Certified TDA prescribed burn manager certification.

Six CFTs will be offered on Monday April 17 to current Licensed Burn Managers-$150

Full 4-day Training for Burn Manager Certification-$600


VFDS should check for funding (HB 2604)


Texas A&M AgriLife Extension

Prescribed Burn School

Please join us in San Angelo April 19-21 for a 3-day Prescribed Burn School!

Register HERE!

Registration is complimentary for CEAs as a professional development opportunity (please rsvp with @Jaime Sanford).  This school will be advantageous if your landowners are looking to build and grow a Prescribed Burn Association!

This 3-day school will include:

  • 24-hr TDA curriculum for CIPBM
  • TDA CIPBM Exam
  • Prescribed Burn
  • 6 Continuing Fire Training credits offered each day





Training Tuition Grants available to qualifying VFD members through the Rural Volunteer Fire Department Assistance Program (HD 2604). Program will cover up to %100 of the actual cost of tuition for a VFD member to attend a Texas Department of Agriculture Certified and Insured Prescribed Burn Manager training course, not to exceed $129 per day and $645 per trainee.




Texas A&M Forest Service, Attn: RVFDAP


200 Technology Way, Suite 1162


College Station, TX 77845


Phone (979) 458-6505





Texas A&M Forest Service grants available to qualifying landowners and properties for prescribed burns conducted by Certified and Insured Prescribed Burn Managers.



Find out if you are eligible for cost share assistance for prescribed burning from various organizations like NRCS, TPWD, TAMFS, USFWS, and various NGOs in Texas by visiting the Texas A&M Forest Service- Funding Connector App.