Skip to content

Applications Now Being Accepted For Texas Wine Industry Advisory Committee (9/24/2015)

AUSTIN - Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller announced today the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) is accepting applications for positions on the Texas Wine Industry Development Advisory Committee. The committee is a vital component of TDA’s efforts to administer the Texas Wine Marketing Assistance Program, which is responsible for promoting, strengthening and educating consumers about Texas’ growing wine industry. The advisory committee helps assess the state of Texas’ wine industry and develops recommendations to assist in promoting and expanding it. Additionally, the committee will play a vital role in selecting projects to be funded by the Wine Industry Development Fund, which focuses on projects related to mitigating or eliminating the effects of frost, pests and diseases on grapevines.

“The wine industry is a valuable segment of Texas agriculture, and we must work together to advance viticulture in Texas,” Commissioner Miller said. “Through the efforts of this committee, the Texas Department of Agriculture will be able to draw on the collective expertise of its members to raise public awareness about this dynamic segment of Texas' agriculture industry. Texas agriculture matters and that means the Texas wine industry matters. I look forward to working with committee members to help deliver this important message to the people of our great state and nation.”

The advisory committee is comprised of members who represent various segments of the Texas wine industry. Currently, TDA is looking for individuals from the following categories to fill the positions:

  • Grape growers from various regions of Texas,
  • Winery owners, operators or winemakers who represent a variety of small, medium and large wineries from the various regions of Texas,
  • Researchers or educators specializing in viticulture or enology and
  • Consumers who are not affiliated with the alcoholic beverage industry.

Click here to download a committee member application. Should you have questions, contact Wendy Womack at (512) 463-7170 or

The deadline to submit applications is Sept. 30, 2015.