(800)-Tell-TDA
835-5832

Welcome to the Texas Department of Agriculture Industrial Hemp Program website. This site will provide access the online forms and information needed to participate in agricultural production of hemp in the Lone Star State.

The 2018 Farm Bill legalized the commercial production of hemp and authorized states to submit state plans to administer hemp programs. On June 10, 2019, House Bill 1325, was signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott. The bill authorizes the production, manufacture, retail sale, and inspection of industrial hemp crops and products in Texas. This also includes products for consumable hemp products which contain cannabidiol (CBD), as well as other edible parts of the hemp plant.

The hemp growing license and permit application process opened online on March 16, 2020.

Please view Commissioner Miller's Introduction Video to get started.  When ready to apply for a license, a different Orientation Video (below) is required viewing.
 
Introductory Hemp Video





   
   
 




WATCH TDA ORIENTATION VIDEO (VIEW)
Watching the TDA Hemp Orientation Video is a pre-requisite to applying for a hemp license.


APPLY ONLINE ON TDA WEBSITE (eApply)
After watching the required video, you can apply online for a Hemp Producer license through the TDA eApply site. 
  • Click link above and use the pulldown menu to select Producer License Application.
  • One facility location is required when applying for Producer License.
  • License will sent via email to contact person listed in application.

APPLY FOR A LOT CROP PERMIT (eApply)
A Producer’s license is required before applying for a Lot Crop Permit (LCP). An LCP is required for each planting area and must be received before planting begins.

  • Click eApply link above and use the pulldown menu to select Lot Crop Permit Application.
  • The account # and a facility location ID # on your license will be needed to apply for the LCP.
  • A lot report for every LCP issued is required to be submitted no later than 30th day after final sample is collected or no later than 180 days from the lot permit issue date, whichever is first.

APPLY FOR AN OFFICIAL SAMPLE (eApply)
Before hemp crop can be harvested an official sample must be taken by a TDA licensed Handler Sampler and submitted to A TDA Registered Laboratory.
  • Click eApply link and use pulldown to select Sample Transport Manifest Request (Official or Unofficial). Then in the “Request Type” drop down select Official Sample Request & Sample Manifest Request).
  • Crop must be harvested within 15 days from sampling or a second official sample is required.
  • No more than two official sample requests per lot.
NOTE: Unofficial sample testing is unlimited and may be used as a monitoring tool. Unofficial sampling is not a required part of the hemp production process.

APPLY FOR TRANSPORT MANIFEST (eApply)
After receipt of laboratory results -- if results are within acceptable hemp THC level -- a transport manifest to move hemp may be applied for.
  • Click eApply link above and choose Transport Manifest Request

 
 



TDA Approved Hemp Variety Form (PDF)
Application for approval of a hemp variety under the Texas Hemp Program
 
TDA Processor Registration Form (eApply)
Use eApply for registration of an industrial hemp processor
 
TDA Laboratory Registration Form (eApply)
Use eApply for registration of a hemp THC testing laboratory

TDA Hemp Lot Report Form (Excel)
Form to report Hemp Lot information
 
 
 
 




Texas Department of Agriculture
512-463-8215

Hemp@TexasAgriculture.gov

Consumables, Hemp products, or CBD oil:

Texas Department of State Health Services
DSHS Hemp Website
DSHSHempProgram@dshs.texas.gov

Questions about federal hemp regulations:

USDA Hemp Production Program
FarmBill.Hemp@usda.gov